Home Again, Home Again, Jiggity-Jig

I spent the last four months in Florida with my parents so they could enjoy the kids (and also so maybe I could enjoy the beach a little).

My parents enjoyed the kids, and I enjoyed the beach!

Mmmm I enjoyed the hell out of the beach.

Mmmm I enjoyed the hell out of the beach.

More importantly, I got to stomp around Sarasota, where much of Vorator takes place. I went back and made sure everything I wrote about is still legit (which it is, as far as I could see).

At one point in the story, Brian observes that Connor is increasingly grumpy about urban expansion out what was once rural Fruitville Road. I took a drive down Fruitville Road, and it’s definitely suffering from urban sprawl. Connor would pitch a fit!

And now I’m back in Utah. It’s very, very cold here. But there’s something wonderful about the cold and the snow. I grew up on the beach in Florida, but I have a weird attraction to deserts and snow. I don’t know what that’s about.

Since I got back, I’ve been putting laundry away (so much laundry) and trying to get things back to normal: heat, the fridge ice maker, my car, the Internet. I just got the interwebs working, so of course I had to come write a blog post. Whee!

Leave a Reply

