Spank This; It’s New

I am not a computer idiot.

I was born in the 1980s, so computers have been around and in homes my whole life. My dad is a “computer guy.” So is my brother. In middle and high school, the home office was right next to my bedroom, and I’d sneak on the family computer after bedtime. Kids these days don’t know the trepidation of trying to sign on to AOL using a dial up modem whilst trying not to wake up their parents. I’ve been doing computerly things for my entire adult life.

That said, I have been having the hardest time trying to make a website for myself. When I first heard that web designers charge upwards of $1,000 to make a website, I was like, “What the foo?! No way! I’ll just make it myself!”

I now understand. A thousand dollars is not enough to make me ever do this ever again. However, since I’m stubborn and prideful, I must finish it myself*.

So welcome to my hobbled-together website, its pieces joined by the glue of love and friendship my tears of frustration. And probably some Gorilla Glue, too, because that stuff is amazing.

* By “myself,” I mean “with the assistance of family members and friends who know how to use HTML.” Natch.

Leave a Reply

